• Spring stars named
    STAFF REPORT | June 20,2014
    • Email Article
    •  Print Article
    The Marble Valley League has announced its all star teams for the spring sports season.

    Named to the The baseball A Division team are Matt Upright, Mount Anthony; Codi Smith, Hartford; Jordy Allard, Hartford; Rob Heilman, Brattleboro; Noah Rizio, Burr and Burton Academy; Chris McAuliffe, Brattleboro; Adam Maitland, Burr and Burton; Andy Kenosh, Rutland; Andy Cassarino, Rutland and Collin Clark, Rutland. The Coach of the Year is Brattleboro’s Chris Groeger.

    The B Division team in baseball is comprised of Fair Haven’s Ian Misencik; Mill River’s Pat Mumford, Lincoln Pritchard and Dan Blanchard; Otter Valley’s Shane Quenneville and Will Claessens; Bellows Falls’ Austin Stack and Ethan Illingworth; and Windsor’s Ethan Hill and Tyson Boudro. The Coach of the Year is Windsor’s Don Swinyer.

    Honored on the C Division baseball team are: Springfield’s Cameron Blais; Green Mountain’s Jake Cavacas; Poultney’s Sean Shepardson, Brett Kelley and Brandon Davenport; Woodstock’s Doug Avellino and Zach Cole; Leland & Gray’s Josh Donna; and Green Mountain’s Kyle Kemp. The Coach of the Year is Woodstock’s Jason Tarleton.

    The D Division baseball team is made up of: Black River’s Ben Veysey and Ethan Van Guilder; Mount St. Joseph’s Shane Protivanky, Jonah Farrow and Zack Lanzillo; Proctor’s Kyle Miles and Cody Landon; Twin Valley’s Colin Lozito and Sam Molner; and West Rutland’s Jeremy Avoli. Twin Valley’s Jim Burke is the Coach of the Year.

    State champion Otter Valley had pitcher Taylor Aines and slugger Cortney Poljacik named to the B Division team. Joining them were Maddy DeRosia and McKinlie Carpenter of Bratteboro, Rachel Hauck of Rutland, Meghan Courchesne and Sara Locke of Springfield, and Kate Goodell and Makayla Farrara of Mount Anthory. Otter Valley’s Pattie Candon was Coach of the Year.

    Named to the B Division team are Fair Haven’s Timi Carone, Anna Fabian and Kayla Stoodley, Hartford’s Kaitlynn Woodward, Courtney Murray and Jenna Yee, Leland & Gray’s Elizabeth Symanski and Jordan Gouger and Windsor’s Haley Wood. The Coach of the Year is Hartford’s Gary Gervais.

    The C Division softball stars are Green Mountain’s Stephanie Knockenhauer, Leah Bodin, Kris Knockenhauer and Sasha Peteycki, Black River’s Sarah Rumrill, Abby Schmidt and Kateri Collins, Twin Valley’s Savannah Nesbitt and Sammy Cunningham-Darrah, Burr and Burton’s Caitlyn Arellano, West Rutland’s Taylor Raiche, Morgan Raiche and Kaelin Reopell, Poultney’s Emily DeBonis and Abby Lamberton, Proctor’s Brodie Langlois, Bellows Falls’ Chelsea Wilder, Black River’s Gabrielle Miele and Black River’s Hannah Van Guilder. Green Mountain’s Terry Farrell is Coach of the Year.

    The All-MVL lacrosse team is comprised of Brattleboro’s Hannah Lynde. Katelyn Donovan and Marissa Semenovich, Burr and Burton’s Brianna Brockett. Hayley Sabol and Morgan Bazyk, Hartford’s Esme Cole, Mount Anthony’s Emily Cross, Logan Boyle, Marina Rotella and Catherine DiPalma and Woodstock’s Annie Arthur and Lauren Kaija. Mount Anthony’s Tom Otero is Coach of the Year.

    There was also a second team. Honored on that squad are Burr and Burton’s Katy Jones, Lucy Bisselle and Ryder Ferrone, Brattleboro’s Lizzie Clark, Megan Siggins, Alex Fellows and Abbie Lesure, Hartford’s Alexis Lovell and Megan Potter, Mount Anthony’s Claire Taub, Meghan Bishop and Sam Mayer, Rutland’s Kristina Bellomo and Abbie Foley and Woodstock’s Abby Kaija, Holli Olson and Megan Dalton.

    Honored on the boys lacrosse team on attack are Brattleboro’s Sam Siegel and Brennen Zolnoski, Mount Anthony’s Avery Peck and Woodsgtock’s Haven Lantz. Named as midfielders are Oliver Kaija, Rutland’s Joe Couture, Brattleboro’s Connor Eliott-Knaggs, Mount Anthony’s Nick Altland and Hartford’s Joe Borchert.

    Earning a spot on defense are Woodstock’s Nick Donaldson, Will Gault and Connor Fegard and Brattleboro’s Colby McGinn.

    The goalie was Woodstock’s Ben Orr and the long stick midfielder Brattlboro’s Kyle Patno.

    Second-team attack honors went to Mount Anthony’s Layne Trafton, Burr and Burton’s Tom Morgantini, Rutland’s Bobby Bergen and Brattleboro’s Tanner Freeman.

    Named to the second team as midfield players are Mount Anthony’s Luke Keenen, Burr and Burton’s Ben Alexopoulos, Brattleboro’s Jack Gagnon, Woodstock’s Nehemiah Wood and Mount Anthony’s Otis Selib.

    Second-team defenders are Mount Anthony’s Ben Prandini and Antonio Mintrone and Rutland’s Austin Gorman and Copper Babbitt.

    Second-team goalies are BBA’s Mike Sztorc and MAU’s Jackson Thibeau. The second-team long sticker is Rutland’s Evan Abatiell.

    Coach of the Year is Mount Anthony’s Paul Reif.
    • Email Article
    •  Print Article
    MORE IN This Just In

    BURLINGTON – Anthony Princiotti’s final Masterworks... Full Story
    Music Review: Princiotti begins VSO swan song
    More Articles