Virtual Suffrage Scramble 5k

Run, walk, stroll, or roll to mark the 100th anniversary of women’s right to vote. Complete 3 miles on the route of your choice and at any pace between Saturday, August 8 — Saturday, August 15. The Suffrage Scramble Virtual 5K is presented by Central Vermont Runners and the Vermont Suffrage Centennial Alliance. $20 entrance fee for individuals and discounts for teams. Although women got the vote in 1920, Black women were frequently denied the right to vote until the Voting Rights Act of 1965. People of color, people with disabilities, and people of modest incomes had to fight for their right to vote free from legal restrictions, intimidation, and threats of violence, a struggle that continues to this day.

Suffrage Scramble 5K proceeds and extra donations go to the Rutland chapter of the NAACP to expand voter registration, education, and access for communities of color. Learn more and register now:

BirthsRutland Regional Medical Center

A daughter, Ryleigh Mae Baker, was born July 10, 2020, to Ariel Billings and Peter Baker of Pittsford.

A daughter, Elaine Hope McCallum, was born July 14, 2020, to Harley Combs and Cody McCallum from Wells and Rutland.

A daughter, Josephine Lynn Stevens was born July 14, 2020, to Emily Rock and Josh Stevens of Mendon.

College newsMeagan Jean Rose of Brandon received a Master of Education degree in curriculum and instruction from University of Massachusetts Lowell.

Emily Lowell of Brandon received a Master of Business Business Administration from the Pompea College of Business at the University of New Haven, Connecticut.

Local graduates from Saint Michael’s College in Colchester include Morgan Cecile Collins of Mount Holly, Bachelor of Arts in psychology; Emilee Marie Cornelius of Rutland, Bachelor of Science, cum laude in biology; and Haley Rae Hull of West Rutland, Bachelor of Science in business administration.

Noah Beauchain of Shrewsbury graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Exercise and Sport Physiology, magna cum laude, from Plymouth State University in Plymouth, New Hampshire.

Recent University of Connecticut graduates include Amy Nicole Jones of Brandon, Bachelor of Science Pathobiology; Brian Robert McCarthy of Brattleboro, Bachelor of Arts Psychological Sciences; Katherine Emily Nelligan of Killington, Bachelor of Science Animal Science; Andrew Thomas Taylor of Quechee, Master of Arts Educational Psychology; Jordan Angela McShane of Stamford, Doctor of Audiology Speech, Lang and Hearing; and Drake Philip Hull of West Rutland, Bachelor of Science Applied and Resource Economics.

Community College of Vermont spring 2020 academic honors include:

President’s list — Kyle Meckes-Gibbon of Middletown Springs; Shannon Breeden, Alana Golding, Deron Rixon, all of Rutland; Owen Ahearn, Nathaniel Hance, both of Wallingford; and Hunter Lanfear of West Rutland.

Dean’s list — Tara Fenton of Bomoseen; Yvonne Harrison of Cornwall; Stiles Loper of Fair Haven; Haley Conway of Florence; Ashley Fowler, Chloe Speyers, both of Leicester; Wes Doner of Middlebury; KC Swan of Mount Holly; Samuel Hayden, Elizabeth Spencer, both of North Clarendon; Jenna Atkinson, Kimberly Davis, Hunter Hayes, Allison Morrill, Rachael Noel, Severin Sheldon, Noel Smart, all of Rutland; and Rebecca Dekalb, Angela Fredette, both of West Rutland.

Honors list — Elizabeth Creed, Ryan Francoeur, Samantha Stevers, all of Brandon; Andrew Burkins, Matthew Burkins, both of Bridport; Lisa Ladd, Kyle Wyman, both of Castleton; Charles Regula, Destiny Wingate, both of Center Rutland; Kimberly Benjamin of Danby; Darci McDonald of East Middlebury; Meghan Hudson, Daniel Swinington, Haley Walker, all of Fair Haven; Caileigh Bushey, Sierra Greenberg, Jamie Krymlak, Heather Quesnel, all of Middlebury; Cassandra Kosmalski, Leland Peschl, Diane Rosenmiller, all of Middletown Springs; Adam Pate of Mount Holly; Grace Hampton of North Clarendon; Tamara Gebo of Orwell; Emily Perry of Pittsford; Christine Greene of Poultney; Deanna Rider of Proctor; Samantha Benoit, Michelle Cordeiro, Miranda Dillon, Maxson Emmons, Kiana Fermin, Tyler Kingsbury, Shannon Morton, Meagan Santana, Kimberlee Simons, Annmarie Valentin, Amanda Vumbaco, all of Rutland; Daniel Myhre of Shrewsbury; Kate Goetz of Wallingford; Morghan Coltey of West Haven; Crystal Hartman, Erika Henderson, both of West Rutland; Eva Trudeau of Weybridge; and Natalie Drake, Katie Mitchell, both of Whiting.

Emalyn Remington of Poultney was named to the spring 2020 dean’s list at the University of Maine at Farmington.

Cassie Pearce of Danby was named to the spring 2020 dean’s list at Fairfield University in Fairfield, Connecticut.

University of Connecticut spring 2020 dean’s list includes Paige Marion of Manchester Center, Courtney Creed of Rutland and Lizzy Parker of Springfield.

Recipients of the $1,000 Heritage Family Credit Union 2020 Scholarships are Aryn Iannuzzi of Burr & Burton Academy, Haley Lassen from Rutland High School, Kati Bashaw from Otter Valley Union High School and Austin May from Stafford Technical Center, as exemplary members of the student body with demonstrated leadership qualities within their school and community. The scholarship awards them $1,000 each to help them pursue further education in an accredited undergraduate program at a college, trade school or university.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.